Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Death Cab for Cutie - Transatlanticism

Death Cab for Cutie is a Grammy nominated American indie rock band formed in 1997. Transatlanticism presents a polished version of the heartstring-tugging formula that has earned the Washington state quartet its cultish following: melodic, melancholy songs about feeling both smart and confused, hopelessly romantic but wary of love.

The eleven indie lullabies here -- ostensibly about a long-distance relationship -- are both tuneful and rough-edged, with singer Benjamin Gibbard's plaintive boy-next-door voice wafting delicately over crunchy guitars, piano and random percussion. The title track is an epic, fully formed tear-jerker, and more lighthearted fare such as "Expo '86" and the waltz-tempoed "Death of an Interior Decorator" get by on their childlike charm. Transatlanticism is an album about young men enduring lost love in an ocean of memory

The band has never sounded more cohesive, the track sequencing is brilliant, and it capped off a triumphant year for a band whose time and greater recognition is finally due.

1. The New Year
2. Lightness
3. Title and Registration
4. Expo '86
5. The Sound of Settling
6. Tiny Vessels
7. Transatlanticism
8. Passenger Seat
9. Death of an Interior Decorator
10. We Looked Like Giants
11. A Lack of Color




Anonymous said...


Post a Comment


Radio Retaliation © 2008. Chaotic Soul :: Converted by Randomness