Thursday, June 11, 2009

Binary Star - Masters of the Universe (2000)

This is one of my favorite albums of all time. In my opinion (don't take my word for it though), it tops Illmatic. The group is made up of the emcees/producers Senim Silla (spelled backwards is 'All is Mines') and One Be Lo (also known as One Man Army). The two met in jail, and decided to use their time locked up to researching about the music industry. While still in jail, with the help of a man by the moniker Decompoze, they created a hip-hop masterpiece.
Sometime in the album, they describe themselves as "two emcees that revolve around each other". I don't think it could have been said better. The two have love for the art of hip-hop and have honed their skills while in prison. They flow effortlessly, and can easily incorporate messages within their songs without letting them go over your head. The production is beautiful, and their mastery of word-play is nothing short of brilliant. It may take few rotations to understand the messages and stories told in this album, but it is worth it. There isn't a bad song on this album. I strongly recommend this to EVERYONE with appreciation for good hip-hop music. DO NOT SLEEP.


  1. Reality Check
  2. Conquistadors
  3. Solar Powered Intro
  4. Solar Powered
  5. Slang Blade Intro
  6. Slang Blade
  7. Binary Shuffle Intro
  8. Binary Shuffle
  9. Fellowship
  10. New Hip Hop
  11. Masters of the Universe
  12. Indy 500
  13. Evolution of Man
  14. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Part 1)
  15. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Part 2)
  16. Honest Expression (definently the gem of the album)
  17. Honest Expression Outro
  18. Glen Close
  19. Wolfman Jack Intro
  20. Wolfman Jack
  21. One Man Army
  22. The KGB Intro
  23. The KGB
  24. Album Outro

*Note- If you liked this album, cop/download One Be Lo's 'S.O.N.O.G.R.A.M.'


Gopi Sangha @ said...

Thanks for posting on Binary Star & Lo. I can tell you we are working on some exciting things from One Be Lo, Senam Silla & Binary Star coming soon and we'll be sure to keep you posted.

Follow One Be Lo & upcoming projects at

Post a Comment


Radio Retaliation © 2008. Chaotic Soul :: Converted by Randomness